2008 CMA Awards! Nominees & Winners (Photos & Video)

November 11, 2008
Bookmark and Share

The 2008 CMA Awards are just around the corner and we have the full list of nominees and winners, as they come, here. Check it out along with pictures, and videos of CMA Awards performances!

The CMA Awards nominees and winners are posted below, as the winners are named, of course. This year is set to be an exciting award show as Country music’s biggest stars will hit the stage. Brad Paisley and Carrie Underwood will host this year’s event.

Performances include: Brooks & Dunn, Kenny Chesney, Alan Jackson, Miranda Lambert, George Strait, Sugarland, Taylor Swift and Keith Urban.

However one huge country star will once again boycott the Country Music Association Awards. Toby Keith, who has been nominated for 27 awards, and only won two, claims CMA play politics, so he is done with the show. Coming in at $48 million, right behind Beyonce and the Police on the Forbes list of all music stars, he may have a point. He tells People;

“I know everybody is going to say it’s sour grapes, but I don’t care – it’s not. I haven’t been to a CMA Awards show in four years. They screwed me ’till I finally saw the light.”

The CMA Awards airs live from Nashville on Nov. 12 on ABC.

Full list of 2008 CMA winners and nominees below, along with video and pictures.

CMA Awards Video Promo

Sugarland Stay CMA Awards Video

Kellie Pickler – I Wonder CMA Awards Video

2008 CMA winners and nominees

Entertainer of the Year:
Kenny Chesney**WINNER**
Brad Paisley
George Strait
Keith Urban

Female vocalist of the Year:
Alison Krauss
Miranda Lambert
Martina McBride
Taylor Swift
Carrie Underwood**WINNER**

Male vocalist of the Year:
Kenny Chesney
Alan Jackson
Brad Paisley**WINNER**
George Strait
Keith Urban

New Artist of the Year:
Jason Aldean
Rodney Atkins
Lady Antebellum**WINNER**
James Otto
Kellie Pickler

Vocal Group of the Year:
Emerson Drive
Lady Antebellum
Little Big Town
Rascal Flatts**WINNER**

Vocal Duo of the Year:
Big & Rich
Brooks & Dunn
Montgomery Gentry

Single of the Year (artist and producer):

“Don’t Blink,” Kenny Chesney/Buddy Cannon and Chesney
Gunpowder and Lead,” Miranda Lambert/Frank Liddell and Mike Wrucke
“I Saw God Today,” George Strait/Tony Brown and Strait**WINNER**
“Stay,” Sugarland/Byron Gallimore, Bush and Nettles
“You’re Gonna Miss This,” Trace Adkins/Frank Rogers. I gotta “Stay” with Nettles and company

Song of the Year (songwriter and publisher):
Alan Jackson’s “Good Time”/Jackson
George Strait’s “I Saw God Today”/Rodney Clawson, Monty Criswell and Wade Kirby
Brad Paisley’s “Letter to Me”/Paisley
Sugarland’s “Stay”/Nettles**WINNER**
Trace Adkins’ “You’re Gonna Miss This”/Ashley Gorley and Lee Thomas Miller

Album of the Year:
“Carnival Ride,” Carrie Underwood
“Cowboy Town,” Brooks & Dunn
“Good Time,” Alan Jackson
“Just Who I Am: Poets & Pirates,” Kenny Chesney
“Troubadour,” George Strait “**WINNER**

Tags: , , , ,

« Previous Next »

Comments are closed.